Skip to main content


Common Core Mathematics

The Common Core State Standards for Mathematics (CCSSM) define what students should understand and be able to do in their study of mathematics. All students must have the opportunity to learn and meet the same high standards if they are to access the knowledge and skills necessary in college and careers. The standards call for learning mathematical content in the context of real-world situations, using mathematics to solve problems, and developing “habits of mind” that foster mastery of mathematics content as well as mathematical understanding.


Essential Documents for Common Core Mathematics 

California Common Core Mathematics Standards:

Common Core Mathematics Appendix A: Designing High School Mathematics courses based on the common core state standards.

Sacramento Office of Education CA to CCSS M Crosswalk: A comparison between CA math content standards and CCSS Math


CCSS Mathematics Shifts

The Common Core State Standards for Mathematics highlight six instructional shifts needed to effectively implement the common core state standards. There are six core shifts that are required by the Common Core State Standards. By describing these six core shifts, we aim to ensure that expectations for teaching and learning are clear, consistent, and tightly aligned to the goals of the Standards themselves.



Shift 1: Focus

Focus requires that CUSD teachers significantly narrow the scope of content in each grade and deepen how time and energy is spent on major topics in the classroom.


Shift 2 Coherence

Coherence is about making sense of math. Mathematics requires students to reason with small number of principles such as place value and properties of operations. The standards define the progressions of learning that leverage these principles as they build knowledge over the grades.


Shift 3 Fluency

CUSD students are expected to have speed and accuracy with simple calculations; students must memorize core functions through repetition (ex:multiplication, division, addition, and subtraction)


Shift 4 Deep Understanding

CUSD students learn more than the trick to get the answer right. They learn the reasoning behind the math.


Shift 5 Application

CUSD students are expected to choose the appropriate concept for application even when they are not prompted to do so.


Shift 5 Dual Intensity

CUSD students are practicing and understanding with intensity.


CCSS Mathematics 8 Instructional Practices

The 8 Mathematical practices describe varieties of expertise that mathematics educators at all levels should seek to develop in their students. The standards outline  

8 mathematical practice.jpg

Resources for the 8 Mathematical Practice:


CCSS Mathematic Resources

The following are resources to help you understand CCSSM: